Sense of Wonder, My Life in Comic Fandom – The Whole Story

By Bill Schelly (Author)

A fascinating story of growing up as a gay fan of comic books in the 1960s, building a fifty-year career as an award-winning writer, and interacting with acclaimed comic book legends.

Award-winning writer Bill Schelly relates how comics and fandom saved his life in this engrossing story that begins in the burgeoning comic fandom movement of the 1960s and follows the twists and turns of a career that spanned fifty years. Schelly recounts his struggle to come out at a time when homosexuality was considered a mental illness, how the egalitarian nature of fandom offered a safe haven for those who were different, and how his need for creative expression eventually overcame all obstacles. He describes living through the AIDS epidemic, finding the love of his life, and his unorthodox route to becoming a father. He also details his personal encounters with major talents of 1960s comics, such as Steve Ditko (co-creator of Spider-Man), Jim Shooter (writer for DC and later editor-in-chief of Marvel Comics), and Julius Schwartz (legendary architect of the Silver Age of comics).

“FOND, FUNNY and nostalgic, like going home again.”

George R. R. Martin, author of Game of Thrones

“The tale of how Bill Schelly found A WEALTH OF WAYS TO GROW CREATIVELY.”        

Howard Cruse, author of Stuck Rubber Baby

“Intimate and heart-warming!”

Paul Levitz, author of Will Eisner, Champion of the Graphic Novel

“Bill Schelly has an obsessive, interesting mind.”

Tom Robbins, author of Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

Paperback: 424 pages
Publisher: North Atlantic Books (April 17, 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1623171512
ISBN-13: 978-1623171513

Buy on Amazon   Buy for Kindle   Buy the AudioBook   

Sense of Wonder Introduction

Sense of Wonder: Chapter 1

Note from the author: This is NOT the same book that was published in 2001 under the title Sense of Wonder, A Life in Comic Fandom (which is out of print). This new book contains two parts: the text of the first book, and a sequel of equal length. Part one covers my life up to 1974; part two picks up the story and continues it to 2017. Also, part one has been revised, and new material has been added, which deepens the story and helps prepare the reader for part two.

Sense of Wonder

Out of Print